Why?

I work as a storyteller, but spend most of my time as a Mother answering questions children have asked since the beginning of time. Mainly just one question actually. Why?

I’ve never stopped asking why, but I don’t think any of us really like definitive answers, they sort of ruin the possibilities, or our faith in what we were told when we were children. I was very lucky as a child to have been given common sense answers in a matter of fact manner about the really important questions, but was also taught about fairies and the supernatural and allowed to answer questions with my own imagination – I was told about nature, how systems worked, taxes etc, but most usefully about death (school eventually taught me the other things, but school doesn’t teach how to relate to other people and how to deal with death). My Mother has been preparing me for her death from an early age, but has also shown how to live in a structured, ordered fashion with enjoyment, honesty, integrity and nourishment of human relationships. It means when she does die I know she will be OK about it and that makes me feel OK about it, I’ll feel sad, but I will always have her in my heart, just as I have memories of her Mother in my heart even though she died before I was born. They will live eternally as I tell as much as I can remember to my children and them to theirs – heavenly!

We’ve stopped telling stories to our children from our memories, our faith and imaginations, we live in a literal age when reading stories to children is as much about teaching to read as it is about teaching through stories. We seem to want to give our children all the definitive facts that science has worked out for us and leave little to the imagination. The Bible used to be the book of stories that we retold and explained the wonders of nature and how society works, but now we know God isn’t up in the clouds and a lot of the stories in the Bible contradict the main message of christianity or break my 2 life rules, we dismiss the whole religion and mock anyone who has faith.

But that is just silly! It’s called chucking the baby out with the bathwater.

I was brought up as a christian and managed to listen to stories in church and sunday school relating them to myself and learning from the experiences of the characters in the stories. The faith that is taught in churches that I have been to is much more about being united as humans to be good and kind and less about finding some obscure passage in the Bible that is discriminatory or judgmental. Just because the Archbishop of Canterbury and the Pope blaspheme and make judgements it is not their place to make, doesn’t mean you should dismiss a whole religion that people have followed for centuries.

I’m not a complete naivete, I worked out when I was about 15 why God was invented. I remember thinking about war and what was going on in the world, Aids and the hole in the ozone. I thought if only there was one person in charge of the whole world who was fair and good so that inequalities between countries were made smaller and all the world did their best to be environmentally friendly and have knowledge of how to prevent the spread of disease. Ah,  that’s why they invented God!

Now I have a better understanding of the human soul through an experience when my soul died and I became a husk of a person, there in body, but not in spirit, I understand even better why God was invented and then reinvented by Jesus.

Humans have 3 parts, their physical self, emotional/spiritual self and the mental self. Belief in God helps us to develop as our true selves with a guilt free emotional/spiritual self which allows us to access the pure logic of a well ordered mental self.

I’ll explain better in a further post, but my point in this post is that we don’t need to know where God is, how he created the world, how he allows disasters to happen etc. We just need to think about why humans since the beginning of time in all cultures have created God.

Necessity.

So why is God a necessity?

Standard

Leave a Reply

